Where there is movement, there is improvement.

with 11 comments

Change is good. Even small changes can make a difference about how you feel about yourself and your actions. Today started off as a dark stormy day and so all plans involving paint and the outdoors were scrapped. Two sick kids meant we were stuck at home with our library plans scrapped too. After spending most of the morning in the kitchen tending to my hungry little monsters, I got the urge to change something in there! I have long-term plans to change the floors, repaint the cabinets, punch a huge hole in the wall and change all the hardware, but I wanted a quick fix – simple and free. I remembered I had a roll of contact paper under the bathroom sink and voila – 10 minutes later I have a changed dishwasher. I won’t say it is better (or worse), but it is changed and for today, that is a happy thing. Ooh what if I had some glossy red contact paper or some super bright turquoise under the sink instead!?

wood contact paper

Just realized that I may have been inspired by the toilet seat post from yesterday. Oops. Ah well. Those toilet seats do make me happy.

Written by pleasanthouse.wordpress.com

03/30/2010 at 4:33

Posted in DIY, kitchen

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This a little crazy. Martha Stewart would not approve.

    Me like.

    sherry

    03/31/2010 at 4:33

  2. I didn’t say it was better, just different… and they do sell stainless steel contact paper. If you like that pricey appliance look.

    happymodernranch

    03/31/2010 at 4:33

  3. p.s. I don’t mean to sound defensive. Husband is not a fan either so we had words on the subject. :/

    happymodernranch

    03/31/2010 at 4:33

  4. it goes well when the wooden bowl is there above the dish washer…otherwise, i think a bright orange (homage to your front-door-dream) or another color would be better than wood grain.

    Mina

    03/31/2010 at 4:33

  5. Hope you saw that I said I liked it at the bottom of my comment! I meant that Martha wouldn’t approve=means that’s a good thing. 🙂

    sherry

    04/02/2010 at 4:33

  6. Sorry I didn’t communicate that very well. My bad! -_-

    sherry

    04/02/2010 at 4:33

  7. Oops!! LOL. No, I didn’t see that last part. Ugh. Sorry for lashing out! I need you. You are one of my three regular readers. Please stay with me, Sherry. I got nothing but love for you, baby ❤

    happymodernranch

    04/03/2010 at 4:33

  8. Hehehe. It’s all good.

    sherry

    04/03/2010 at 4:33

  9. Thanks for understanding 🙂 And what’s going on with your place? Anything new?

    happymodernranch

    04/03/2010 at 4:33

  10. Just doggie news! We have a dog now and we are spending our time trying to make him less afraid of us!

    sherry

    04/06/2010 at 4:33

  11. Okay, off to find some pics, Sherry. Have you posted any yet?

    happymodernranch

    04/07/2010 at 4:33


Leave a Reply

