bathroom confession

with 5 comments

I bought a wooden toilet seat for the Master bathroom and it made me so darn happy that I replaced the one in the kids’ bathroom too! I don’t care if they are dated and homely and design-backward. They feel so good when you’re doing your business that I’ll gladly make the exception. Something about the texture? The weight of it? A heavy seat makes me feel secure.

master bathroom
kids' bathroom

So now I have the wooden toilet seats *and* the treadmill in the living room. Why do I get the feeling that I’m in jeopardy of losing all 3 of the people who regularly read my blog? Hmmm.

One more thing about bathrooms. No bathmats! Ever! Yuck. I loathe the idea of stepping out of my clean shower onto a bathmat that has been stepped on over and over again. Shivers. However, what do you do about wet feet when you step out of the tub? Once you use your towel to dry off (we are single-use towel people), you fold it up and place it where a traditional bathmat would go. Replace as you go. This way, each towel has served two different jobs before hitting the laundry!

The photos do not show it, but there is a hamper in the kids’ bathroom. This makes for easy disposal of soiled towels and clothes. As the kids get older and start doing their own laundry, they will each get a hamper in their rooms. For now, a centralized location works best for me.

And, the master bathroom is still very much in the “before” stage. I would love for it to someday look like this bathroom:
inspiration room

That tile floor is eye candy. Ooh I am going to try my hand at painting ours!

Written by pleasanthouse.wordpress.com

03/29/2010 at 4:33

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. all I can say about this right now is hahahaahhaha! I love your humor… oh, and I have a confession too. I once had a wooden seat and loved it. Shhh. Right now I prefer the convenience of the flip down kiddy seat built into mine. Like these – they even come in wood!
    http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6766

    Kim

    03/29/2010 at 4:33

  2. btw: is that a teak mat I see in the shower?

    Kim

    03/29/2010 at 4:33

  3. Great link for the wood “family” toilet seat. I may need one once K2 starts to train.

    Yes, those are teak mats in the master shower. The shower tile in there feels like a gym locker. The teak has made all the difference. Of course, how much would I love one single giant teak mat ($$$$)? For now, we are making due with separate mats. Not as pretty, but feels just as good.

    And I would love to get a teak shower bench in there too. Need to measure the space that’s left and start googling 😉

    happymodernranch

    03/29/2010 at 4:33

  4. Never have used a wooden seat, before. Now I’m intrigued!

    sherry

    03/31/2010 at 4:33

  5. You won’t regret it, Sherry. Give it a try. Make sure you get s nice heavy one.

    happymodernranch

    03/31/2010 at 4:33


Leave a Reply

