you can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes…

with 5 comments

The bookcase I ordered was not in stock, so hayneedle.com canceled my order. Although I was angry about it initially, it turned out to be a good thing. After the table + chairs arrived, the floor space started shrinking and a hanging bookcase was a much better solution.

This MS piece is awesome, but requires handy people and we are not them…
martha stewart diy rack

I started looking online this morning and found this:
pottery barn kids rack

It is nice looking, but a bit wide for the space and I did not want to pay all the tax + shipping that comes with a PB purchase. And I must mention that Andie had previously made me promise to never shop at PB Kids, PB baby or any other PB company.

So…what to do? After some brainstorming, I remembered the previous owners had left a $2.99 Ikea pot lid rack hanging on the back of the garage’s side door and VOILA!

ikea pot lid rack/ bookshelf hack

it was an instant hit!
k2 with books (ikea pot lid as book shelf)

Thank you, hayneedle.com. Your bad service led me to a FREE book shelf solution.

A quick google search came up with an interesting Ikea bookshelf hack. $12 and super easy to make. We could definitely manage this, but for now, what we have works. I prefer to rotate a small assortment of books anyway; it keeps the kids interested.

Written by pleasanthouse.wordpress.com

02/20/2010 at 4:33

Posted in DIY, playroom

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I like your solution even better than the bookcase you ordered. The books become the focus, not so much the rack.

    Why won’t you order from PB?

    sherry

    02/21/2010 at 4:33

  2. Thanks, Sherry. I am just glad to have the books up and out of the way. The instant gratification was a god thing too.

    About PB. Once Andie gets back from the Olympics, I will have her do a guest post. She has very strong opinions!

    happymodernranch

    02/21/2010 at 4:33

  3. This solution requires a bit of handiness, but the result is so cool! I have coveted these hanging book “shelves” for ages.

    http://raisingolives.com/2009/07/raingutter-book-shelves-tutorial/

    Amanda

    02/22/2010 at 4:33

  4. Amanda, James is loving the look of the rain gutter shelving. Woo Hoo! He is inspired and wants to make them. 🙂 Thanks for the link.

    happymodernranch

    02/22/2010 at 4:33

  5. Yay! Perhaps I can find inspiration to finally make them, too.

    Amanda

    02/23/2010 at 4:33


Leave a Reply

